Daily magazine about Latvia www.latviannews.lv
Truth, like gold, is to be obtained not by its growth, but by washing away from it all that is not gold.
Lev Tolstoy
Russian version

Conductor Jansons to receive high honor

Mariss Jansons.
RIGA, June 5 - World famous Latvian symphony orchestra conductor Mariss Jansons received the prestigious Ernst von Siemens Award.

This honor - which includes a EUR 250,000 cash prize, is called the "Nobel Prize of the music world."

"Taking into account the previous winners of this award, I feel almost shy to be included among them. This award is great recognition of my efforts, and I look at it as further motivation," commented Jansons.

Jansons is indeed in fine company as he joins Benjamin Britten, Herbert von Karajan, Mstislav Rostropovich, Leonard Bernstein, Daniel Barenboim and Anne-Sophie Mutter, among others. 
Before the comment please read the rules of use our webpage.. Thank you.